February 12

What’s Your Love Language


What’s Your Love Language

February is synonymous with love and when you think love you think Valentine's Day. According to the National Retail Federation, Valentine's Day contributed nearly $20 billion to the economy in 2018 by consumers lavishing attention on loved ones with candy, cards, flowers, and so on. In 1992, Dr. Gary Chapman wrote the famous The Five Love LanguagesThe book was written to help people understand the different expressions of love-aka love language- selling over 6 million copies.  

The 5 Love Languages are: 

  • Words of Affirmation – the use of words (e.g. Well done! Good Job!)
  • Gifts – the use of gifts (e.g. boxes of treats, discount vouchers)
  • Acts of Service – giving a helping hand (e.g. early timeout, hand delivery)
  • Quality Time – spending quality time (e.g. dinner out, dropping by their office)
  • Physical Touch – use of appropriate touch (e.g. high fives, pat on the back)
So, how could this be beneficial for you? You have to consider that there are many factors that contribute to your success and happiness, personally and professionally. Having a good understanding of the 5 Love Languages could help you build networks for your career and show appreciation and encouragement to your co-workers, employees, and clients.

In the spirit of a Valentine’s Day that celebrates all sorts of relationships and love, let’s talk about celebrating appreciation in the place we spend the majority of our time—the workplace. Whether it’s a pat on the back, an award for a job well done, or some one-on-one time, we each have unique emotions attached to what makes us feel appreciated.  Click here to take the What's Your Business Love Language quiz!


Loved this? Spread the word

About the Author

Ashley Turner-Carrick

Related posts

How My Overdose Saved My Life an interview with Amy Parker

​Read More

Holiday Countdown!

​Read More

2018 Summit Reached!

​Read More

A Beacon of Comfort

​Read More
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Subscribe to our newsletter now!